top of page

Teach me to Play

I remember when my children first introduced me to Minecraft.

I wasn't a gamer before that really. I mean, back in my day I could compete on some

Pac-Man and my brother and I did score a very used Atari we wore out. But as an adult; I pretty much stuck to a few Facebook games until they become impossible and I quite. I do love me some board games but try keeping all the pieces in the box as your children are growing up Right?!

But this Minecraft really had my kids expressing themselves. They were learning so much about names of trees, biomes, ores, and typing way more proficiently. I could hear them shouting at each other from room to room and enjoyed how the oldest would play with the youngest.

When they first showed me I was overwhelmed. What do you mean you use the 'W' *& 'S' keys to move?? But what I laugh about now is how I was frightened to play in Survival Mode. Oh yes!! I admit it's funny now, how long I stayed in Creative for fear of those Mobs but I'll admit also; I still get very jumpy in Caves.

Here's a game my youngest plays that I can't even Watch! Very popular with the young ones these days, but goodness they are brave! I have to beg my kids to get on the servers in-order to help me explore an abandon mine. They are way tougher about these things but I am so grateful I kept an open mind and they kept patient when it came to Minecraft.

While it probably consumes too much of my time; I really enjoy hanging out with the children, (mine and yours) watching them all mature in their building and socializing, and even growing my very own skills in the game. (we all started with dirt houses, right?)

Minecraft and other games gives my children a chance to teach me. I become the uncertain student. They often beat me at the Wii games and I won't touch that Five Nights at Freddy's mess, but I love that we Have time to play, bond, challenge each other, and do it all in the safety and warmth of our own castle. (Hey! Now there's something to build on Minecraft!)

Many Blessings ~ Sara Randolph


bottom of page